WIPs and Stuff

Good afternoon peeps!

Sorry for the loooooong absence, I haven’t blogged or even been online really in about 6 weeks. What happiness!

Work has been tiring, and frankly, sometimes after a long day the last thing you want to do is spend ages faffing around on the interweb! Also, been doing lots of reading and crafting and going places and seeing people and planning things and trying new things, so it’s not all bad right?!

But, first a crafty catch up. I had a long list of things to finish and I managed to get a few done which was good. 🙂

    The crochet hook holder is done, just need to add either a button or some ribbon and maybe tidy up a few loose ends and things. I knitted the cover back in either January or February (or possibly earlier) and that and the fabric have been lying around since then.

It isn’t the best thing I have ever made – mostly because I didn’t really measure it! Oops! I can already hear some of you sewists cringing and tutting. I know, I know, it’s the whole ‘MEASURE TWICE, CUT ONCE’ old maxim, but I was impatient and didn’t want to spend hours and hours on this so I sort of guessed it, which is why it only sort of works. But it’s not terrible, just needs another few minutes of tidying up like I say.

The second thing I did recently was learn how to knit socks, which has been on my wish list for a looooong time. It took me 3 weeks to knit this one sock (ha!) on and off I might add, so maybe that explains why there is still only ONE SOCK! But the other is coming, once I get a couple more projects out of the way.

It was made with Stylecraft’s Head Over Heels range, the kilimajaro colourway I think and I really like the colours as they remind me of Nepalese prayer flags (which I have long had a strange fascination with). The only thing I’m not sure I like with this wool is on some parts where there is a colour change, it looks like the Stylecraft Wool Gnome has missed a few spots so it’s still the base white. It kind of makes me want to get a felt tip marker and colour it in myself!

I made quite a few mistakes, but i am well chuffed with myself (thanks Youtube!).

(It’s the same sock btw, just from a different angle!) And I have massive clown sized feet…lol!

What else?

Ah yes, a friend has just adopted the cutest baby girl ever in the history of baby girls so I had to make SOMETHING for her. I opted for a cute little pink loom knitted hat and with the leftover wool I crocheted a little bag and filled it with Mr Men books. And added a cuddly toy too. 🙂

I have also made some headway with a crocheted blanket which is nearly finished just need a few more rounds. The trouble is, the bigger it gets, the longer it takes just to do a single round!

James C Brett Marble Cunky range was used for this, they stopped doing the brown colour which is sad, so the last few rounds have just been red and purple.

And here is a montage of them all below, because that is a word I rarely get to use these days so here you go…montage!

I have also finised a loom knitted bright scarf which I forgot to take a picture of, but as I have a gorgeous autumn loom knit scarf on the go as well now, I might as well wait and post them together.

I have bought an awful lot of wool and yarny gooess lately, but again that’s for another time. As are the many books I have bought and read. I promised myself I wouldn’t buy any more until I had read the rest of what was leftover on my shelf still to read, well, I got paid last Thursday and I just had a book blowout, what can I say?! I don’t even feel guilty as they are some nerdy bloody books and there is room to put them now that I have been decluttering!

Have a good Sunday and it’s good to be back! 🙂 Ellen xx

11 thoughts on “WIPs and Stuff

    1. sarucrochet30 Post author

      Thanks Mrs Blooms! A week off always means lots of crafting lol! I was always put off socks for ages for the same reason, I think I like the idea of homemade socks rather than the actual faff on of making them!! But I WILL get the other sock done soon! I cant have one random sock lying around! x

      Like

  1. Tami

    Hi Ellen! Welcome back! I’ve been going semi-unplugged all summer and it’s been fantastic! Isn’t it amazing how much you can get done when you’re not sitting in front of a computer for hours a day!! 😀 Well done on the socks. I don’t know how to knit but if I ever get an urge to learn it will be specifically to knit socks! 😀

    Like

Comments are closed.