Loom Knitting

Last week I bought a set of circular knitting looms from my local yarn shop. I’ve always wondered how to use them and after watching a video on Youtube I have it all figured out (at least the knit stitch – haven’t tried the purl yet).

And it is so QUICK to knit on. I made the smaller hat in an hour and a half and the larger one over 2 evenings. They both use 2 strands of yarn, the smaller hat using aran weight and the larger one chunky weight yarn.

The smaller hat was made on a 36 peg size loom and the larger one on a 41 peg size loom.

I followed this tutorial on Youtube. She’s really good and has a website, just google Loomahat and see what comes up.

Have a go and see how quick and easy it is to knit things in the round! The looms are not expensive at all to buy and you will wonder why you didn’t try it earlier! 🙂

There were no seams to weave in, it was all knitted in one piece with no increases or decreases and the only thing I had to sew in was when I gathered it all at the top at the end.

P.S. you can add a pom pom to the top if you want to finish it off properly.

 

6 thoughts on “Loom Knitting

    1. sarucrochet30 Post author

      It is and it is so quick and easy to do! Also, wherever you get your loom out and whoever you are with, people will stop and stare in fascination as they watch you loom away! 🙂

      Like

  1. Candelo Blooms

    Between you and Tami of Tanglewood Knots, I’m getting lots of inspiration to dig out old obscure purchases and learn how to use them! I’ve just found my Flower Loom, so will have a go after this!! So thank you! Don’t know if you received my Blue Sky Tag nomination last week, so am sending it again, as you are a perfect recipient! See: https://candeloblooms.com/2017/06/15/blue-sky-tag/. Please don’t worry if you did get it and decided not to do it though!!! xxx

    Like

    1. sarucrochet30 Post author

      Yay it’s Mrs Blooms! Sorry I have been not just away from blogging but away from the computer for AGES! I am getting through all of the blog admin and everything at the moment! You should definitely have a go at loom knitting – it’s quicker than crochet!!Oooh I’ll have a look at the link shortly, that sounds interesting, thank you! 🙂 xx

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Mr Knitter

    I have the same circular looms but never used them yet as all my hats I have done with DPN’s due to the patterns I had created. I must try using them, which size loom did you use for the adult size hat?

    Like

    1. sarucrochet30 Post author

      The large adult was 41 peg and the small adult was 36 peg loom. If you go on Youtube and search for loomahat.com there are lots of video tutorials or visit the website for lots of free patterns! (that’s what I used for the hats) 🙂

      Like

Comments are closed.