bloglovin’ vs Stumbleupon

Good morrow fellow bloggers, it is I, Ellen, here to tell you about 2 blog sharing sites that you may or may not want to join up with.

It’s kind of like the Matrix in one respect – “You take the blue pill, the story ends. You wake up in your bed and believe whatever you want to believe. You take the red pill, you stay in Wonderland, and I show you how deep the rabbit hole goes.”

Last week I signed up to both Bloglovin’ and Stumbleupon. One I love, one I hate.

Stumbleupon

StumbleUpon is a discovery engine (a form of web search engine), that finds and recommends web content to its users. Its features allow users to discover and rate Web pages, photos and videos that are personalized to their tastes and interests using peer-sourcing and social -networking principles.     WIKIPEDIA

I joined this first and I have to say I was a little confused and non-plussed with it all. You sign up, make a tiny profile, choose some interests and click stumble. You get a random web page linked to those interests you specify. NOT A BLOG, BUT A PAGE. Yes you can continue looking around the site/ blog but you only get one at a time. You can like or unlike the page. The more likes a page gets the higher in the stumbleupon rankings it gets and therefore more likely to be seen by more people. You can add and share your own content, but who wants to be inundated with your followers pushing their own stuff on you all the time, you know? Press stumble button again and you get a new page.

I also found a lot of the pages were old, years old, some even when pages were grey and square/ rectangle boxes everywhere (I’m trying to say they wouldn’t have looked out of place in 1999!).

It’s all a bit overhyped if you ask me.

Bloglovin’

This one on the other hand is much easier to use, it’s much clearer with a more modern and cleaner finish to it.

Bloglovin’ is a platform that allows users to read, organize, and discover their favourite blogs on mobile and desktop. It is a design-focused platform that aggregates feeds from sources with RSS feeds, allowing users to discover and organize content. As of April 2014, Bloglovin’ reaches over 16 million global users monthly. Bloglovin’ caters primarily to the “lifestyle” crowd. 90% of Bloglovin’s users are female.       WIKIPEDIA

Bloglovin reminds me of Pinterest but instead of pins, you get blogs and their pages. It’s very visual like Pinterest, so I imagine those posts with pictures do better on this site than just words.

Sign up and straight away you can search for blogs, I recommend searching for and claiming your own first. I find it’s better if you’re searching for blogs with the whole address on here ([example.wordpress.com]) but again you can search for your personalised interests on here.

To claim your blog, type in your address and click on yours when it comes up, to the right will be a little link that says ‘claim it’ and click on it. A little box with code in will come up, copy and paste this onto a html blog post (the last post I published shows you what the code does – it verifies you are the blog owner and provides a link for people to follow you). So you will need to have wordpress open in another tab ready and waiting when you claim your blog.

I couldn’t find a way to do this on the dashboard so I had to use the my site page to do this (when you see all your stats and have the option to use the reader you will see all the options on the left side, that’s the page I mean). Click on add new post and you will find a tab on the top right which says html, click on that and post your code there. Publish the post. Done.

Sounds complicated but it’s really not!

Bloglovin actually offers a useful help page so there are lots of screenshots to help you.

So, what next? I will keep up with bloglovin, but I think I may be deleting my stumbleupon account soon, it’s that horrible in my eyes. Maybe I could upload something, but it’s very difficult to work things out I think.

So, these are just a couple of options if you want more ways to generate traffic to your blog or just to reach out to more blogs, since they won’t all be wordpress ones.

Maybe you will have more luck than I on stumbleupon, maybe you will hate bloglovin. Good luck with both and hope to see you on bloglovin soon.

Ellen xx

 

9 thoughts on “bloglovin’ vs Stumbleupon

  1. Tanglewood Knots

    Thanks for doing the exploring and testing for us! I’m undecided right now. Perhaps you could give an update after a little while to share how well bloglovin has worked out for you? 🙂

    Like

    1. sarucrochet30 Post author

      lol you’re welcome, i’d heard about them ages ago and it’s been on my to -do lists for awhile.
      I think I’m going to like Bloglovin…it even has an ickle analytics page 🙂 xx

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Follow my Blog on Bloglovin! – Nikki Charlene Handmade

  3. MrsCraft

    It’s interesting as I’ve had more traffic from stumble upon but randomly just for one post. I’ve no idea who added it though! I’m struggling to get off the ground with bloglovin, I’d really like to use it to branch out and find blogs outside of wordpress as well as sharing my work more widely. I’ll be following to see if you come up with any tips! 😊

    Like

    1. sarucrochet30 Post author

      I do seem to be full of tips lately don’t I?! I just find Stumbleupon so hard to get into, maybe I just need a bit of time to get use to it, I don’t know. I think the thing with Bloglovin is it shows you the top blogs/ posts etc. first, these have 1000s of followers but aren’t likely to follow you back so you’re better off going for the middle to small blogs if you want actual engagement or views (that’s how I see it anyway). xx

      Like

  4. hyggejem

    Bloglovin’ gets addictive after a while, and it takes great discipline not to fill the feed with everyone you find and follow. I was a big user, but I’ve had a while off, because I was always sitting and reading other’s work instead of writing. It is very simple and intuitive to use, though. I’ve never used Stumbleupon, but the idea of only one page puts me off. I like continuity and a connection…

    Like

    1. sarucrochet30 Post author

      I think Bloglovin looks easy to use and I quite like what I’ve seen so far (though I haven’t been on it long).
      If you knew bloggers and friends on Stumbleupon then that’s fine, ubt it’s quite hard to interact with people and I don’t like that most of the pages I have seen are older ones (which is not a problem if it’s good and lasting content but they do look out of date and make the platform itself seem outdated. xx

      Like

  5. Pingback: Bloglovin’ – givin’ it a try | I Love a Good Yarn

Comments are closed.