Testing, Testing, 1 2 3

My discoveries with WordPress continue. But in this case I am seeing what a poll looks like on my posts. Just a look-see!

Here goes…

 

OK, so the white doesn’t show up as well as I thought it would and I need to leave a couple of spaces after the poll really, to be able to see what I want to write next. I guess this is a good way to get feedback, especially if I keep it open for a week (which I think is the longest I can anyway).

It’s something different. You can post videos, images and audio to go with your poll if you wanted.

Why use a poll? Got a new pattern/ idea/ project you want feedback on? Want to know what people would think is a reasonable price for something? A poll can be a useful way to get feedback for your crafty business plans (although not scientifically accurate as not all of your followers will vote) and it can offer something different for your readers who are used to just words and pictures.

Do you want to have a go at one? Dashboard – Feedback – Polls

It’s very simple to create and you get a choice of layouts too. Have a go, just to say you made one.

And did you know you can change the message at the bottom of your posts which says ‘leave a reply’ ? It’s right before the comments section.

If you want to customise that too, go to Settings – Discussion and take a long look at what comes up – you can even change how long you want people to be able to comment on posts (do you want to close comments after a day/ week etc?).

May the WordPress discoveries continue!! Ellen xx

8 thoughts on “Testing, Testing, 1 2 3

      1. Tanglewood Knots

        I consider myself to be maybe not a technical wizard, but at least a little more than average. For some reason wordpress seems to be tricky – maybe I’m just a little nervous because its my site and a reflection of me. I blog for the company I work for and should post some hints that I have learned as well. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

        1. sarucrochet30 Post author

          There’s always the fear of pressing the wring button and having it blow up in your wordpress I think! I think because it’s free people assume you can’t do much with it, but actually it’s surprising what you CAN do…it’s just not always obvious where to find stuff! xx

          Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.