Pinterest Spam

I have posted before about how much I like Pinterest, I mean let’s face it, what crafty and creative person doesn’t? The arty pictures, the infographics, the inspiration, the oohing and aahhing over simple yet great ideas. It’s great for creativity and sparking off moments of genius.

Except.

One does get a heck of a lot of spam. And where the hell have ten of my boards gone?!

The help centre on Pinterest is actually a no-help-centre since their idea of advice is to say check you didn’t accidentally delete your boards coz you can’t get them back again if you did. Yeah, thanks, but even I would have noticed if I had deleted them! They also say Google may have a cached copy. OK, fine. But clicking on the link doesn’t get my boards back. And I don’t even understand what that means or where the link is or what I should do to get them back!!

As of now I can search for them in Pinterest search but I can’t see them on my laptop, yet I can on my phone. Very confusing.

So. I decided to do some sorting through my boards and deleted LOADS of pins yesterday.

Here are some tips for getting round the spammers.

  1. Check your boards regularly. Sometimes extra pins will just appear (I’m talking about your own boards here, not group ones). If that happens just get rid. If you didn’t pin it, it’s spam.
  2. Look at the description of the pin. Long descriptions with words like ‘wow, how does she do it?’ or  lots of keywords or symbols, then it’s probably spam.
  3. Spammers use clickbait. This is defined, according to a Google search, as ‘(on the Internet) content whose main purpose is to attract attention and encourage visitors to click on a link to a particular web page’. And they love lists, so you will see titles like 25 ways to decorate your home, the 10 greatest….,the 20 best ways to…. If it’s a list and you didn’t pin it, delete it!
  4. Dodgy or blurred or grainy photos. Obviously spammers have copied it from somewhere. Don’t re-pin.  Delete.
  5. Check your privacy settings. Who can see your boards? What can they access? Who have you invited to share your boards? If I can search for it on Google, I can spam it!!
  6. Followers. There are not just spam pins on Pinterest, but spam accounts too. How can you tell a spam account? First of all for me, I am instantly suspicious when there is no photo. OK, lots of people don’t use Pinterest enough to be bothered with completing their account details and some don’t want to share pics of themselves, OK, I get it. But be aware if there is no photo or if there is a dodgy one. A woman with lots of cleavage and a raunchy expression will not be a good representation for an online business which claims to sell fishing gear – does the photo match the name and description of the account holder? Also, look at the description of account, is there a lot of keywords? Look at the boards of your followers, do they have one or two boards with a 1000 + pins? Spam. Do they have lots of boards with a bald man in front of a whiteboard?!! Spam! Lots of boards with some 7 or 8 pins and some 1000+ pins? Spam. Sometimes you can look for bad English, which obviously doesn’t mean it’s necessarily a spam account but be aware. Spammers will often use common names like John Smith or Owen Jones. You will often get a sudden surge of followers – NO SPAMMER SPAMS ALONE!!  Delete your follower if he looks dodgy, don’t feel bad just go with your gut instinct.
  7. Following. By the same token, look every so often at the people YOU are following. Spam slips in. If on second thoughts, you’re not sure about an account, then un-follow. Simples.
  8. If one of your boards is chock full of spam, just delete it and start again, or re-pin some of the pins you want to keep to another board.
  9. A good but slightly nerdy tip would be to make a note of your boards and rough number of pins and the name of your boards. Just in case any go ‘missing’. I didn’t even notice I couldn’t see some of mine, so I don’t know how long they have been ‘gone’.
  10. The last point is one you should probably do in the first place. Lots of places I have read about online regarding the spamming of pinterest recommend this, however you must ensure you have adequate anti-virus protection. This tip is the most obvious, yet we don’t always do it because either we are short on time or we are simply inspired by the picture, maybe we want to build up a board quickly. Whatever. Here it is: FOLLOW THE LINK TO THE WEBSITE. It’s obvious isn’t it? ONLY PIN WHAT YOU KNOW YOU ARE PINNING!

Hopefully that gives you some food for thought. I still don’t know how to get my boards back! Will have another go tonight and if not. I shall find them and I shall delete them. If I can’t have a board with Christmas Inspiration or Halloween Inspiration, or Hygge, then I don’t see why the spammers should have them!!!!

*SIGH* If only these people would put all their IT skills to a good use, and not waste everyone’s time, imagine all the good that could be accomplished!!

6 thoughts on “Pinterest Spam

  1. Arlene

    I have only three boards. One for the items of crochet I have sold, one for the crochet items I have for sale and one for my blog posts to skrappy skarves. I have followed crochet designers that I am familar with, family members and personal friends. I don’t go pinning, I guess it is just not my thing.I have acctually been thinking about deleting my Pinterest since I don’t do it that much. I have enough to do with Facebook and my two blogs and Ravelry. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. sarucrochet30 Post author

      I have loads of boards, some are what I have made, some are totally useless but fun nonsense boards (like the fairy glade one!!) and some are really useful, like the writing and making money online ones. It took me a while to get used to it. There are that many social media platforms nowadays, you could spend half a day just updating some of them! There are other ways to bookmark good sites after all! xx

      Liked by 1 person

  2. madgeface

    Interesting. I’m not on Pinterest enough these days to notice spam pins on my own boards, just spammy pins in my feed from Pinterest in the form of pins I may be interested in. Most of the things I pin are from websites, not repinned pins – I guess I use pins & boards more like an enhanced bookmarking service. When I do explore Pinterest and repin pins, I generally click through to the web site to make sure the link isn’t dead and it’s not spam. Thank you for the tips; hopefully I can stay spam-free!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. sarucrochet30 Post author

      Spam-free sounds good, wish I was spam-free! I have that many boards that I don’t check them frequently enough, which may be a problem in itself…time to delete a few boards I think! It’s good practice to always check links and ensure you’re pinning genuine stuff that you genuinely like. If only I could meet a spammer in the flesh and maybe clobber them round the head with a rolling pin…that would really make my day lol! Bloody spammers! xx

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.