A Granny A Day

You know what they say – a granny a day keeps the boredom at bay!

After all these months learning how to knit and then discovering the actual JOY of knitting, I have suddenly made a U-turn and decided to do some crochet for a little bit. I was sorting out my stash drawers, and put all the yarn I wanted used up asap because it was ugly or horrible into bags.

When doing this I found some yarn which I thought would look good as neon granny squares. YES, I said NEON grannies!

img_1950

img_1951

The white one you see in the background was a test one for size for another project I have brewing in my head…a nerdy one that needs 675 squares…so I need to think about that before I say anything more here.

Had a thought that the green and orange squares would be good for a Halloween blanket as I was making them, HOWEVER, I am not going down that route. I thought a small-ish granny funky cushion. With  maybe small squares on the front and either a bigger one on the back or stripes. I have seen granny stripe blankets which look quite good and are quite quick to make up (being a tall treble stitch and lots of gaps.

I only did 3 rounds, 2 in colour and 1 in black.

The only thing I would say is that I tend not to do chains on my grannies! I do 3 chains to make the first stitch as normal, 2 chains in the corners and that’s it. I find just doing your trebles into the spaces between your stitches makes a much neater and tighter square (that will mean NOTHING to people who don’t crochet!).

Anyhoo…

The freebie yarn from different knitting and crochet magazines is being made into practice knitted squares, as I said in my previous post. Yesterday I completed a double rib square, but now I realise when doing ribbing it pulls the work together quite tightly so I know to cast on more next time.

img_1948

Are those colours just the most hideous ever?!

And I am slowly continuing with the bunting and other projects.

Hope you all have a crafty weekend planned!

Ellen xx

5 thoughts on “A Granny A Day

Comments are closed.