Waffle Knit Stitch

Yesterday I knitted 2 squares – 1 a simple knit stitch and the other a simple waffle pattern.

I find that when I buy knitting and crochet magazines they come with free kits, but ones that I would rarely want to have a go at (Willard Whale being an exception). So, what to do with all that free yarn? I have given some away in the past, either to my local primary school or to local charity shops.

But now I have an idea. I’m going to use all that cheap and nasty free yarn and use it for my experiments – Muahahahaha!

By which of course I simply mean I shall use it to practice new stitches with. It knits up quite tightly and stiffly, so would be good for things like coaster, place mats and floor mats, randomly enough! And I hate throwing things away without using up as much as I can…

img_1945-edited

The colours are bright and horrible, but it’s just a trial. I figured out on which row to change colours now so you don’t get that extra row of colour. I forgot to take a pic of the back, but the back looks quite interesting too.

Maybe if I do enough ‘trials’ I might have enough for another blanket! Or maybe a picnic rug or something!

The waffle stitch is really easy to do as well. There are lots of variations of this stitch out there, so see what you come across when you type it in.

I am trying to keep all my squares as close to 40 stitches (cast on) as possible so they all line up when I come to sew them up (if I get that far with the small amounts of freebie yarn I have left).

I have seen versions where you slip stitches or wind yarn around needle many times. It’s up to you which one you go for. I think basically it is a combination of whether you do a couple of rows of knit before or after your couple of rows of single rib.

Here is another version with bigger squares: http://newstitchaday.com/waffle-stitch/

And one I found on Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rHLlNxePCe8

I think this pattern would be really good with thick chunky wool, maybe cream or grey or brown…in natural colours.

And best of all, if you’re not a knitter, you can do a waffle stitch in crochet too…which would be SOOOO much quicker to do, methinks!

Ellen x

