Knitted Spring Bunting #2

Thought I would post a quick update on the knitted bunting I have been working on.

I never seem to be able to take pictures in daylight so they don’t look as they do in natural light…it’s always in the evening when I get the urge to take pics!

img_1922-edited

img_1921-edited

Knitted spring bunting

 

I am using Stylecraft Special DK with a pair of 4mm needles.

I am going to do 3 each in 4 colours – Blue, Pink, Yellow and Green for a total of 12 triangles and see where that gets me before I think about doing any more.

I experimented with different ways of decreasing and got a little confused, but now that I figured out you need to cast on an odd number of stitches I am much quicker at it! Also I decided to only use a simple knit stitch since I couldn’t work out how to do a stocking stitch with a simple edging and decrease into a nice triangle shape, but having found other patterns in books and online since starting this project, I now think it wouldn’t be too hard to figure out. What was I saying in my previous post about stop thinking of myself as a beginner knitter?!!

I did try using a decrease on every line (k2tog at start and end of each line) but the triangle was tiny and twisted and weird. I found two lines of knit stitch and THEN a line decreasing worked better.

As well, I need to think about a runner or banner of some kind to hang the bunting from, maybe a crochet one which would be firmer? To think about at the end of the project.

This is what I decided on in the end…

I casted on 31 stitches

Knit 2 rows

Next row k2tog, knit until last 2 stitches, k2tog

Repeat these 2 rows until 1 stitch remains and pull yarn through loop and tighten before cutting yarn and weaving in ends.

I am going to crochet an edging around the triangles, I thought do one triangle with each of the other colours (i.e. for the 3 pink triangles do one with a green edging, one with a yellow and one with a blue). I was thinking one row of double crochet (single crochet if you use US terms) around the edge with maybe 3 stitches in the point at the bottom.

They obviously haven’t been blocked yet so they are a bit twisty and all, but I’ll do that right at the end in one go.

A project like this would be great to use up your odd bits in your stash – maybe a striped one with different colours- or as new baby/ wedding/ birthday present with personalised letters on. Don’t worry Lizzie – I’m not knitting you a set of white wedding bunting so don’t panic! Although…hmmm! How about a crocheted wedding cake? With a pair of crocheted Lizzie and Reg figures?!! lol…be scared!

Hope you’re having a crafty evening whatever you’re all doing.

Ellen x

