Knitted Hot Water Bottles

This year I saw a pattern in Knitting Magazine (UK) for a Christmas hot water bottle and once I looked at it I thought I could give it a go.

The first hot water bottle I followed the pattern to the letter except instead of intarsia I Swiss darned the pattern over the top which just took ages and was difficult to actually follow the pattern. But I like the colours and the overall look of it, I just need to stop thinking of myself as a beginner knitter now and call myself an intermediate one, which means having more confidence going for the slightly harder patterns.

I gave this one to Lizzie since everyone had to have something homemade this year.

It fits a 1.5l bottle which wasn’t made clear in the magazine.

img_1845

I adapted the pattern slightly for Trina’s hot water bottle which was a smaller 1 litre size. I started with 10 less stitches and had a go at an intarsia pattern I created myself – was much easier than I expected. And I managed to hide the strands on the back as well.

img_1879

Now I need to make one for me!

And this is the first time I have knitted (or done ANYTHING) with Aran wool and I really like it! It’s thicker than DK weight and I think I used 5mm needles so it knits up quite quickly. I think I will keep Aran wool in mind for future projects after this! I used Stylecraft Special Aran with wool for these hot water bottles. In case you’re wondering…

 

2 thoughts on “Knitted Hot Water Bottles

Comments are closed.