Soundtracks and Suchlike

If you know anything about me, you will know I love listening to movie and TV soundtracks. I’m talking the score here, not the songs.

I think soundtracks can convey a greater range and amount of emotion than most classical music, which can sometimes feel a bit jarring to me to listen to. OK soundtracks are written to a brief for a specific scene in a film and so have to put the emotional point across in often only a short space of time. But there are some tracks I could listen to over and over.

I like science fiction and action movies so I don’t listen to many rom com soundtracks, but even if a film is only average in plot or acting, often the film score will get overlooked.

Here are a few links to get you started. (These are what I have found on Youtube, obviously I don’t own the copyright to any of the tracks – they are what are freely available on Youtube just by searching for the show or film.)

Yes, it’s Game of Thrones, this is my favourite track from season 6.

Ever seen The Last Samurai? You should! In my opinion it is Tom Cruise’s best film and the score is amazing. Keep listening to the end for this track…it’s well worth it.

I saw the film Brave on Christmas Day either last year or the year before (yes, I am a big kid -so what?!).

Jupiter Ascending. Mostly a terrible film – the plot and dialogue is atrocious and don’t get me started on a guy with an elephant’s face flying a spaceship. But the world building and effects are alright. And the music, whilst off key and odd has it’s moments like this track.

Did you see the reboot of Battlestar Galactica a few years ago? Don’t let the genre fool you. It was pretty good. I struggled to pick just one track here, so here is the love theme for President Roslin and Admiral Adama.

What would a list like this be without the master or composers, John Williams? This is from Star Wars, The Empire Strikes Back. It’s Yoda, what more do I have to say?!

And finally, V for Vendetta. I love this film. It must have been the easiest make up for a film Hugo Weaving ever had to do since he never took his mask off!

OK , so there are a hell of a lot more I could have picked and yes, you are all correct. I am a huge, complete, giant nerd.

And do you know what? I bloody love it!

I have tried to steer away from the more obvious themes, sometimes it’s a little short track on an album that catches your eye (your ear?) and then you play it to death. Luckily these haven’t died for me yet!

Any I have missed? Ellen x

5 thoughts on “Soundtracks and Suchlike

  1. hyggejem

    My son loves movie music and I’m sure all of your suggestions would be on his list. He loves How to Train Your Dragon as well, and so do I. There’s just something about the swirl of the bagpipes that gets me.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. madgeface

    The soundtrack to Orlando got me through a lot of college & work projects. I need to get & rewatch that movie! I also love Graeme Revell; I first heard him in the soundtrack for Until The End of the World (which is great for a number of reasons) but he’s done a lot since then.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. sarucrochet30 Post author

      I’ve heard of him he does a bit of sci fi doesn’t he? I’ve never seen Orlando…hmmm i’m sensing I need to make a list of films to watch!
      Clint Mansell’s The Fountain was a good soundtrack, especially Death is the Road to Awe track. Oh so many good films to see and music to listen to! x

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.