Ravelry Questions

No pics or updates this time, instead I have some questions for you.

I have a varied yet creative collection of hobbies and I know a lot of readers of this blog do too. I like reading, writing, blogging, baking, sewing, candle making, cross-stitching and so on.

I also like to knit and crochet and it’s getting to the point where I would like to start designing my own patterns. In truth I already have lots of times. I have made about 7 or 8 blankets and never followed a pattern. I have made 100s of scarves and never followed a pattern. Most of the time things appear in my mind and get made!

But I never write the patterns down.

I was just wondering…

Is anyone who reads this blog on Ravelry? (It’s basically Facebook for people who knit and crochet).

If so…

  • Do you design and sell your own patterns on there?
  • Is it easy to do?
  • Roughly how many patterns do you sell each month?
  • What kind of patterns sell best? Hats, Shawls…
  • I know Ravelry take 3.5.% of what you make each month (depending on circumstances etc.) and I know you have to pay taxes on top of that…is what you make worth it? (see, I’m not being rude and asking how much you make every month!)
  • Do you offer free patterns as well as selling them?
  • How much time do you invest in updating your profiles, dealing with enquiries, dealing with issues / refunds / problems etc?
  • I’m in the UK and would have to pay VAT and any European Union (for now!!!!) extras too. Any thoughts on people in the UK who sell on Ravelry?

 

  • If you are not a designer, but buy from Ravelry, how much realistically would you be prepared to spend on a pattern? (I know it depends on what you are buying)

Those are just a few questions I have been thinking about.

I would appreciate any thoughts you have. And you never know, you might get some ideas from the answers too!

Thanks a bunch

Ellen x

6 thoughts on “Ravelry Questions

  1. madgeface

    I read your blog and sell patterns on Ravelry! 🙂 I’m madgeface there if you want to go take a look at what I’ve got. The process for opening a shop and adding a pattern is relatively easy and, as usual, there’s a lot of support in the forums if you run into problems. I started selling patterns for the same basic reason you’re thinking about it; why not when you’re designing them anyway? Also, I had several people (some I didn’t even know!) tell me I should write & sell the pattern for a blanket I was working on. I’m terrible with marketing, so I haven’t gotten much traction for my patterns; I’m lucky if I sell one a month. I considered offering free patterns but then decided not to; I wrote a whole post about my thoughts on that – https://madgeface.wordpress.com/2016/04/18/why-ill-no-longer-offer-free-patterns/ So far I’ve spent 0 time on the things you asked about but I have spent time on marketing, though inconsistently. My sales might be better if I made a plan for that & stuck to it. And what patterns sell … I’m not sure; you’d have to poke around the pattern database to compare the number of paid patterns for each category, easy to do in Advance Pattern Search. Also, I’m not in the UK so can’t help with VAT questions, except to say that Ravelry automagically adds it when someone buys my pattern and I don’t have to worry about keeping track of it. Good luck & I hope this helps!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. sarucrochet30 Post author

      Oh wow that’s a big answer! Thanks so much for commenting 🙂
      I’ve just had a look at your post and it’s given me a lot to think about! I think if I ever do get round to uploading and selling (after writing down of course) then I will have to treat it as another income stream and therefore more as a business than a hobby. I have the right kind of mind for that I think – I’m the kind of person that will not just write a plan but colour co-ordinate it and print it out into a pink folder with labels and stickers!
      I’m glad it doesn’t seem too hard to upload patterns since I’m not a technowizz with computers and it’s nice to know there’s support there if / when I need it.
      Definitely lots to ponder, especially as Christmas is just around the corner – now seems to be the perfect time to try and sell a few festive designs in time for the holidays 🙂
      Thanks again for commenting
      Have a great weekend
      Ellen x

      Like

  2. notaknittingnancy

    I am new to Ravelry so I don’t sell but I have bought a few patterns.
    I tend to pay around $6US or 4-5 euro per pattern. I’ve felt ripped off a couple of times when the patterns have been 2 lines and a picture but most of the time I’ve been happy with them. And I make things more than once and my friends like to buy them from me so it’s OK.
    Good luck with it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. sarucrochet30 Post author

      Hi, thanks for commenting!
      That’s an interesting point – I think if I ever do get around to selling on there, I will have to make sure my designs are easy to understand and worth the amount that people are paying for them – I wouldn’t want people to feel ripped off!
      Have a good day!
      Ellen x

      Like

  3. A Country Yarn

    I’m also on ravelry as ACountryYarn. I don’t sell patterns, but I do buy them from time to time. if I feel something is worth the price it has a specific detail I’d like to learn, I buy it. Yiu could browse items similar to yours and see what others are charging.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. sarucrochet30 Post author

      Hi, thanks for commenting!
      I’ve had a look at the patterns and prices and it’s amazing to see how much people are willing to spend on a pattern (especially hats for some reason – they seem to be more expensive than larger items!). But I guess you’re right – if it’s worth the extra pennies, then people will pay them!
      Have a good day!
      Ellen x

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.