Books to read

In the past year and a half I have managed to get my reading list down to about half of what it was. I haven’t read much since January but I am getting back in the swing of things now.

I have come across a challenge online which is to read what you have. I have been doing this already as I went through a period about a decade ago of buying up classics when they only cost about £1 or £1.50 each. Penguin used to do them really cheap…not any more alas!

So here is what I have left to do…

  1. ANNA KARENINA
  2. WOMEN IN LOVE
  3. CROSS STITCH
  4. THE WOMAN IN WHITE
  5. WAR AND PEACE
  6. VANITY FAIR
  7. THE MILL ON THE FLOSS
  8. THE RETURN OF THE NATIVE
  9. ROB ROY
  10. IVANHOE
  11. ATONEMENT
  12. DANIEL DERONDA
  13. 20,000 LEAGUES UNDER THE SEA
  14. THE RIDDLE OF THE SANDS

As you can see some quite thick volumes here so I wont be narrowing down the list anytime soon. But I have managed a few big ones recently.

Bleak House by Charles Dickens – quite good although there could have been just a little more excitement and more of the romance between Esther and Mr Wood-something (Woodcourt? Woodhouse?) and now I understand the reference to the ‘growlery’ that my friend Lizzie used to talk about years ago

Journey to the Centre of the Earth by Jules Verne – ok again could have been more excitement…and maybe a bit more courage from the narrator

Moby Dick by Herman Melville – for an adventure story there is surprisingly little adventure…it reads more like a textbook in some parts and the ending is rushed. In fact the most exciting part is at the beginning when the hero and the savage share a bed together!! – no funny business except smoking a pipe – not a euphemism there either!

So the last three classics read recently were average in my opinion. But at least I can say I have read them and can tick them off my list – and because I am still on a decluttering drive, once I have enough books to fill a bag I will donate them to a charity shop in a few months. I have already cleared out another shelf on my bookcase although the danger with that is that it becomes a dumping ground for all sorts of crap!

Till next time

Ellen x

