Feeling Christmassy

Yay! It’s that time of year again when the preparations for Christmas begin – and I don’t mean putting up the tree!

Last night we (the parents and I) made a late shop to Morrison’s to stock up on things as it had a 20% off day for their staff. We now have most of our wine, alcohol, fizzy drinks, nuts, crisps, snacks, matchmakers!!, After Eights!, toiletries, kitchen roll etc. to last us through at least to the New Year and probably into January and February.

The Side part of the house, which is attached to the garage and is always like a second fridge in winter because it’s so cold, has been sorted and ordered. I know it is Christmas when this is done! Now I just have to resist temptation with the chocolates staring me in the face every time I go down there.

The kitchen cupboards have been sorted and cleaned…the uncooked lasagne sheets from 2011 have been thrown away! And now there is more room for festive things…or at least they are more accessible.

There is a list of jobs to do before getting the decorations out, but it’s a little early for that yet. We used to have neighbours who put their decorations up on bonfire night (5th November) and took them down Boxing Day – madness!!

Last year my favourite little local florist closed down due to high rent rates on the High Street. Such a shame because we got out wreaths from there 😦

Oh I love this time of year…

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

I had a nice surprise in the post today. I have been on survey site Toluna for a year and a bit now and last year earned a £15 Next voucher. I have only just gone back on it a few weeks ago after not going on it for months and am now waiting for my £20 Amazon voucher to arrive.

But last week I did a survey about tea and said I would like to test it, yes please! So, today I got a box with 10 free tea bags and a survey to fill out…and they smell very yummy and fruity yummmmmmm.

I wont say what flavour or who makes them because the product isn’t out in the shop yet but I will say it is the first free thing from Toluna and will make a nice change to try something a bit different!

I think the survey sites are a good idea as you can save up your vouchers or your points throughout the year and spend them at Christmas! If you do 2 or 3 surveys a day or spend half an hour a day then they will soon add up. Check out Toluna’s website on their rewards page if you’re curious as to what you can earn…vouchers for Next, Topshop etc, John Lewis, Marks and Spencers, Debenhams, Pizza Hut, Tesco, Sainburys, book tokens, money into PayPal account…

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

I also had a nice trip to Teesside Park last weekend and spent some Hobbycraft vouchers (thank you Lizzie and Kerrie – and thank you Lizzie for taking me!). I bought some jam jars, ribbon, buttons, candy canes, candle holders, and something else, but I cant remember what! And there is still money left for next time! Thanks guys!

I have been trying out some quick and easy crochet patterns…experimenting and all that. Also doing a spot of sewing and knitting.

And I have been to the library getting 10 books out. As always I say Use it or Lose it with libraries! I have taken about 40 out in the last year and as I am currently job-hunting they are a good source of information about writing a cv/fillinf in application forms/starting a business etc.

I have a list of things to do and things to get…but I am going to have a cup of (free) tea now I think! And since mother dearest got a panetone with choc chip yesterday…well, I may have to sample some of that too!!

And that is as much as I have been doing in the last week or so! xx

 

