Books, Lists, Good Times…

Anyone who knows me will know this one thing about me.

I LOVE. LISTS.

I really do.

Oh, and books too.

So, in the spirit of writing random lists, I thought I would write one about the different genres of books on my bookshelves!

Weird, I know! But I like to think I am well read. In fact, I know I am. Although in many ways I am not well-read at all! I mean, I have only discovered Dickens in the last 5 years, and have never read any Agatha Christie, can you believe it?! But, I have read all of Sherlock Holmes, and Jane Austen and the Bronte sisters. I have read all the ‘scary’ classics like Frankenstein, Dracula, Phantom of the Opera etc. and I have read a lot of modern classics, most of which are dystopian future books (1984, Handmaid’s Tale, The Year of The Flood, Hunger Games, Clockwork Orange…).

Yet, there is always room for a new book or ten.

So here is what I like to read about:

The planets and the Solar System

Physics and complicated science-y stuff in general (written in a simple way for stupid lay people like me)

The English Language – especially the history of it – Did you know that the Old English word for ‘body’ was ‘ban-hus’? Literally…bone-house!

German grammar, as well as introductions to French, Chinese, Italian, Russian, Japanese (but to be fair, these are more reference than light bedtime reading)

Survival and bush-craft, living off the land

Ancient Egypt

How to read Egyptian Hieroglyphs

Astrology (I don’t believe in it…I just like the idea of making a birth chart)

Paranormal debunking – e.g. Derren Brown, paranormality…

Environment books / saving the earth

Writing and proofreading

Shopping – the evilness of supermarkets kind of shopping

Crochet, Knitting, Sewing / Quilting and other crafts

Paper-cutting, Cross Stitch

Self-Sufficiency and grow your own

Cook books

‘New Age’ – just a couple have slipped in…nuff said!

Fiction: horror, lots of old classics, modern classics, humour, science-fiction and fantasy, lots of dystopian future novels!

 

One thing you will never find on my shelves are either biographies or auto-biographies. Don’t see the point and they are all ghost-written / exaggerated / full of lies anyway.

No romance of any kind. No historical romance – yuk!

Very few self-help kinds of books.

 

I’m sure a psychologist could work out all sorts of things about me from this list. Would a list like this help to make an accurate profile of me though, I wonder?

And my favourite book of them all? My big, massive hardcopy of The Dark Tower by Stephen King. It is the 7th and final book of the series and it has a fantastic ending which creates more questions than it answers. And in this book there are 2 sentences (in separate parts of the book) which if you blink you will miss some of the ‘answers’ or ‘clues’ as to what it is all about. I only really caught them on my second reading. The first is when it is mentioned that the guns Roland carries are made from the iron of Excalibur, (King Arthur’s sword) which to me explains how the guns open the gates of the Dark Tower itself (if not the why).

The second sentence regards the Horn that Roland has to leave on a battlefield in his youth because he didn’t have those few precious seconds to stop and pick it up. Not to spoil the ending, but by the end of the book, he DID have those seconds which raises sooooooo many questions, like I said. Does that mean the next Jake is the same Jake or a different Jake? Or no Jake at all?! What about Eddie, Susannah and Oy? Would they appear too or have they earned their rest in another world which may or may not be Heaven…or a parallel universe. In which case, what is the Tower, or rather, what is its purpose? And the biggest question of all. Who is Roland and why is it HIM that has to reach the Tower? (And what happens if he doesn’t?!).

*sighs in confused happiness*

 

But, as with all favourite books, don’t read them too often, because as the old man in the book shop from Never Ending Story II says: “Books change when you read them again.”

I should note that ‘Catch-22’ by Joseph Heller and ‘Gone With the Wind’ by Margaret Mitchell are also my favourite books. Along with ‘Magic Kingdom for Sale – Sold!’ By Terry Brooks and ‘The Solitaire Mystery’ by Jostein Gaarder.

And I have lots more favourites…but no room here for more details. 😦

But now I have sort of deviated from the point. Was there a point? No, just a list.

And just as a parting shot. A book I would love to see adapted for a film?

The Summer Tree by Guy Gavriel Kay. It is a grown up Narnia where 5 people from Earth find themselves in another world, only they arrive in Lord of The Rings instead, not Narnia!

Set in the year I was born, I do believe!

5 thoughts on “Books, Lists, Good Times…

  1. Candelo Blooms

    From one fellow obsessive list maker to another! We love lists too!!! Couldn’t survive without them, especially on a daily organization basis! Maybe, we just have lousy memories, though I prefer to think its just because we have a lot on in our modern lives! I know I feel much more organized with a daily list! I also have a weekly and monthly list too, as well as lists on my mobile phone of favourite books, videos, films, bucket lists of future books/videos/films to see etc, which I can consult if my memory fails me in conversation!!! We also share our love of books and particular genres, though I still do enjoy reading biographies and autobiographies! Once I have finished writing about my favourite gardens, probably next year, I will be starting on books, so I will have a few excellent ones for you (biographies, as well as books in general!!!) In the mean time, here is a good one to start on : ‘Blue Ribbons, Bitter Bread’ by Susanna De Vries. Sounds like I will have to chase up ‘The Dark Tower’ – sounds intriguing!!!

    Like

    1. sarucrochet30 Post author

      Yay im not the only person obsessed with lists and books! (The Books I Have Read List is my favouorite…its the longest!).
      I have not read any of Susanna De Vries, so one to look up in the future I think (still have 3 books on the go at the mo which is a lot for me).
      And the Dark Tower…it is number 7 out of 7 but stick with the series! worth it for the ending!
      🙂 xx

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Lists! | Candelo Blooms

Comments are closed.