Cross stitch completed

Hello,

I am getting lazier and lazier with posting it seems – sorry about that!

But for the past 3 weeks or so I have been beavering away at a cross stitch project which is now finally finished.

Here it is:

over 33,000 stitches!

over 33,000 stitches!

It still needs an iron, and then I need to figure out what to do with it. I’m not a wall hanging kind of person so I’m thinking of either a cushion or quilt.

It is used with DMC threads and the lighting of the photo isn’t great, but it is BIG! And I have said it before, but that sun is SINISTER!

 

I have also made a tray of yummy cupcakes yesterday. I wanted to decorate them with red icing and chocolate matchmakers to make a bonfire cake, but alas it was not to be. The practice one I did looked naff, so I abandoned that plan and just decorated them normally…and the bonus was there were chocolates for another time!

 

I have also been walking without my crutch this week! YAY!

My foot still isn’t 100% perfect yet, but it nearly is. I’m wearing insoles to help with the tendon as well as realign the bones after the op and they hurt like you wouldn’t believe, but I’m getting there. Today I walked to the shop in the village on my own…the longest without crutches since April, that is progress.

It has been amazing how slow the healing process is when you’re eager to get back to real life and everything, but actually, even though it is 7 months now, it is also amazing how quick and how well it has healed. Small victories in everything, from getting rid of mats and bathroom aids and gradually reducing the number of pillows needed to support the foot to getting up and down stairs…I think a lot of it is in the mind, you get comfortable with the aids and one day, you just have to say “I’ll try without” and then be amazed when you CAN do it (and feel like a toddler walking for the first time with your parents encouraging you!).

I know I haven’t posted for awhile, but I will be getting into it again…best laid plans and all that!

And it’s that time of year again…Christmas is just around the corner. I always think I’d like to make some of the gifts to give to people but then never get round to it for one reason or another – maybe this year there is no excuse! Definitely some Xmas posts to come.

Can you believe it was 5 November yesterday and I did not hear a SINGLE firework?! What is going on villagers? Usually there are a few people setting off some bangers but this year…NOTHING! 😮

Anyway, got to go, need to finish a couple of things…more later

Ellen x

6 thoughts on “Cross stitch completed

  1. harebellscrochet

    That’s some cross stitch! It’ll look great as a cushion cover.

    So glad your foot is healing! Keep taking those small steps 🙂

    I think all your firework people have migrated temporarily to where I live – tonight is the first non-firework night since 3rd November!

    Best

    Eleanor x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. sarucrochet30 Post author

      Thanks!
      I do like hearing the fireworks as I sit in front of the fire with a cup of tea and a biccie and something crafty to be getting on with! Eek, that’s a lot of fireworks! x

      Like

Comments are closed.