Chronicling Ellen

 

It strikes me, that I’ve been blogging for almost a month now and there isn’t much personal information about me on here. Which for the most part I’m happy with. I am not going to share every little thing on here and (I hope) neither would you expect me to. But, here is a little bit more info about me. I leave it to you whether you find it useful or not.

I am a non- smoker. I have never even tried it and don’t intend to. Even when I was a teenager and I was asked if I wanted to have a go I said no. I knew then it looked disgusting and I haven’t changed my mind in the more than a decade since. Willpower vs. peer pressure and I know what won for me.

I am for all intents and purposes tee-total. Whilst I will have the odd social drink when out with people and quite a few Sherries (Harvey’s Bristol Cream all the way) at Christmas time, I feel I am under no pressure at all to ‘copy’ people and get drunk. If I have 10 alcoholic drinks in a year then that is a year of heavy drinking for me! I hate the feeling of being drunk and it annoys me that people use it as an excuse. It’s not an excuse, you did that stupid thing / said that stupid thing and now you have to live with it. Am I ranting? Not yet, so I’ll quit while I’m ahead.

About 10 years ago I went on a Bush craft Course in West Sussex. It was my first time camping (we’re not really a camping family) and I loved it. I had my tent, had my crappy wooden spoon I whittled (I chipped off too much wood so I said it was a tea spoon!), made a shelter, had a go in a hammock, came 2 sparks off making fire with a bow drill and generally had a great time. At some point in the future I would love to go on a wild food course, I suppose the Bush Craft Course was just an extension of me being in the environmental group at college. My friends and family were a little …‘surprised’ shall we say? I didn’t know anyone else doing it, was a long way from home, and the London bombings 7/7 happened the previous week but that shouldn’t stop you doing something you want to do.

I have never had a pet. Nuff said.

I am not stylish nor do I follow fashion. But that’s ok. I am tall, big-footed and not skinny so my mantra is: If it fits – get it! Some things in my wardrobe are many years old. I don’t throw everything out and completely revamp my wardrobe like fashion magazines today would have us do every season change. I’m happy wearing what I wear, practical flat boots over sequinned high-heels any day I say.

What else? I eat meat, I could never be a vegetarian. :O

I would love to have a go at the following crafts: glass blowing, glass fusing/ slumping, willow basket weaving, stained glass window making, pottery, jewellery making, ceramic painting, upcycling furniture, learn to knit, sew a patchwork quilt, mosaics, screen print fabric, beading….and 1000s more.

I like New Age music. There. I’ve said it, it’s out there. I can’t take it back, I know. I quite like Loreena Mckennit, not the ye-olde-English-poem-in-a-song kind of songs, but I do like the Eastern sounding ones like ‘Marco Polo’, ‘Caravanserai’ and ‘Gates of Istanbul’. If you don’t know…Google.

I have abseiled down a tree, a wooden tower at an outdoor events place and a university building. I have zip-lined, climbed on a climbing wall, kayaked, done archery, fencing, karate, 1 kendo lesson, rode a horse, gone pony trekking! I have fed an elephant, visited three out of five Capitals in the British Isles – just Cardiff and Belfast to go! – seen German films in an English cinema and English films in a German one, been on a hydrofoil, catamaran and hovercraft. But I’ve never been skiing, ice skating or snowboarding 😦

I completed a Law A/S Level as a night class several years ago. I think we should all do a simple, short Law course at school, even if it was just to learn about the basic duties of Juries, Judges and Lawyers etc., and to understand the structure and hierarchy of the courts.

In 2008 right before I started university I completed a long distance Yoga Teacher Diploma. I’m not qualified to teach, nowhere near, not registered with any professional body or anything. But. I did want to learn more about the theory of Yoga and like anything I want to have a go at in life, I approached it as a research project and now I have a better understanding of what teaching it would entail and the history and background of Yoga. I haven’t done any for a while, but once my cast is off I will definitely get back into Yoga at some point, although, since the foot will still be healing and swelling for a few more months it would make sense to take it slow and steady. And eat biscuits.

My 3 favourite books? How on Earth will I ever narrow it down? Catch -22 by Joseph Heller. Gone With the Wind by Margaret Mitchell. Wizard and Glass by Stephen King.

And Sleeping Naked is Green by Vanessa Farquarson. And North and South by Elizaeth Gaskell. And Magic Kingdom for Sale – Sold! By Terry Brooks. And Witches Abroad by Terry Pratchett. And American Gods by Neil Gaiman….seeing a theme here?

And films? Blues Brothers, Chocolat and V for Vendetta.

I should probably add that after I went to Germany on my year abroad in 2010, I stopped following popular music. I could not tell you who is in the top 20, let alone who is number 1. I. DON’T. DO. MUSIC. Soz.

 

Is all that useful or interesting or even relevant? That’s up to you…

Ellen xx

 

