Today’s Christmas Crochet

Hello and Happy Weekend to you all!

What lovely weather; it’s hot , it’s sunny, there’s no rain. So what am I thinking of? Christmas of course!!

A couple of weeks ago my friend Lizzie sent me a Warcel (that’s a Wool- Parcel doncha know) and there was a ball each of red and white wool inside. It was quite thick and I have no idea who made it as there was no label, but as soon as I saw it I knew one thing – STOCKING!

So I have spent a happy 3 hours crocheting a Christmas stocking today. But I have problems with crocheted stockings in that they all seem to look either club-footed or like ski boots! I have yet to find the perfect pattern. 😦

I have tried starting from the top then doing the lower foot, I have tried patterns in the round. I have tried everything, but to no avail. I just don’t think it looks stocking-y but I don’t know how to fix it! What do you think?

Here is are a couple of pics so you can see what I mean.

stocking3

 

stocking2

This week has also been memorable in the world of yarnage for another reason. I learned to knit! I watched a Youtube tutorial and it clicked straightaway…I can now cast on, knit, purl, and bind off. And I can do the stitch which I always think looks like the typical knit stitch – stocking stitch (ironic considering the pic above). I have a long way to go before I am ‘good’ at it, but I made a boo boo and managed to fix it two rows later…so that’s genius right?

The scarf I am in the middle of (btw there are no holes they are just grey parts of the wool!).

knit woo2

knit woo3

 

The wool is very soft and the stitches don’t show up very well, sorry pics aren’t too good.

I have also come a long way with my big cross stitch project, however it’s not finished and just doesn’t make sense with no detail or explanation so I will save the picture for when it is complete. 🙂

And today Mother bought me a little present of the crochet edition of the Mollie Makes compendium series…I don’t think I would be doing many of the projects in here, although I do like the monochrome hooked zpagetti storage boxes and floor rug. And I like to browse and get more ideas. 🙂

mooollie makes

 

So, those are my crafty ‘creations’ this week. Hope you have been crafty too 🙂

Ellen xxx

8 thoughts on “Today’s Christmas Crochet

  1. J

    I’m glad I’m not the only one thinking about christmas! I always intend to make handmade gifts but always run out time or patience – so I am thinking of beginning now to get a good start! Imagine, a carefree christmas….how nice it is to dream. 🙂 I also think I am genius whenever I fix a knitting blunder, and I learnt 3 years ago! Thanks for visiting my site too! Hannah

    Like

    1. sarucrochet30 Post author

      Thank you!
      The pattern is in one of the small 20-to-make books, I think it is the Christmas Crochet one.
      This one turned out massive coz the wool was so thick lol!! xx

      Like

Comments are closed.