Low Impact Living in the City

Good Afternoon people

Thought I would share this blog post with you today. It’s amazing and very inspirational. It’s from one of my favourite websites of ALL TIME called Low Impact Living.

Here is the link to the blog post: http://www.lowimpact.org/low-impact-the-city-1-introduction-how-possible-is-it-to-live-in-a-sustainable-non-corporate-way-in-a-city

Or if that doesn’t work (and I half expect it not to since I am a documented technophobe) then you can look on the website http://www.lowimpact.org and click on the link at the top which says ‘blog’!

The website covers a huge range of topics and basically the idea is you live as green and earth – friendly as you can. Whilst I am guilty of contributing to a consumer driven and throw away society as much the next person, I am conscious of my ecological and environmental footprint. There are some things I do and a thousand more things I could probably do, some easier than others. But, as Dumbledore says in one of the Harry Potter films: we must all face the choice between what is right and what is easy. (Yes I did just link Harry Potter to the environment).

The blog post which I linked to above is about living a good life in the city. Obviously you are limited in space and there are some things which just aren’t practical – keeping goats in your back yard? But that doesn’t mean you can’t do anything.

And the picture in the post? I have not just book envy but bookshelf envy…and I don’t say that everyday! In the post there is a list of what the author hopes to achieve in a city environment. And I really love lists. Really, really love lists.

So, what do I do / what have I done?

  • Recycle everything that I can: tins, cans, glass jars and bottles, plastic tubs and bottles, cardboard, paper, shoes, textiles, batteries, ink cartridges, glasses (spectacles)…
  • Bought environmentally friendly products e.g. ecover … but not all the time
  • Re-use and repair as much as I can.
  • Use only as much energy as I need: all the old classics here – lid on pan when boiling water, only fill kettle as much as you need, switch off lights, don’t use standby but switch off at the plug etc.
  • No disposable items such as paper plates, plastic cups and cutlery etc. NO STYROFOAM!
  • Use Tote bags for shopping – as few plastic bags as possible and those that do manage to find their way in get used several times.
  • Use recycled notepads
  • Bought fair-trade, organic and local food and produce
  • Buy eggs locally – a local egg-shed!
  • My dad has an allotment – fruit and veg and compost heap
  • Litter picking
  • Online activism – follow and try to join in campaigns but I know this is a weak area for me
  • Only use appliances sparingly – the iron(!!!!!), let hair air dry, no curling tongs…
  • Non smoker, bio-degradable bin bags, donate to charity when I can, re-use gift bags and tags….and the list goes on.

Of course there is a lot more I could do and want to do but at the risk of list – overload I will save that for another post.

A good book is: ‘sleeping naked is green’ by Vanessa Farquharson. She chose to do something green everyday for a year and blogged about it (love the lists for each month!). Some things were more pressing and vital than others but still a good read.

Another good one is: ‘A good life’ by Leo Hickman. Again he goes ‘green’ for a year and wrote about it. A good person to follow on twitter.

And finally: ‘save cash and save the planet’ by Andrea Smith and Nicola Baird,  a Friends of the Earth commissioned book but some really useful tips and I like the case studies best. Because I’m nosy and I like looking at what other people are doing :O

And if they don’t inspire you I don’t know what will!

So, have a read and see what you can do…

xx

 

 

 

 

