52 Books

Hello!

As you may have noticed from my pages I am attempting to read 52 books (in print) this year. I tried it a couple of years ago and got so close… this year I will definitely manage it as I have lots of spare time on my hands thanks to being laid up recovering from foot surgery.

I’m trying to read all my outstanding books on my bookshelf (which is a surprising amount) before buying any new ones. In the past year I have also borrowed about 25 books from my local library, mostly crafty books or crochet ones. I haven’t used my library for years before now apart from the odd time to print something off or use a fax machine ages ago.

It’s a shame. All those books and all those adventures and more importantly all that knowledge stored in even a small one like my local is such a waste if people don’t use them. Use them or lose them. I tried out a few crochet books as I said and have discovered a new series I like: the Easy Crochet series. I borrowed the weekend and seaside volumes and have since bought the country volume. So library trips are well worth it (and don’t you just love coming away with a bag full of books!) 🙂

Anyway as part of my 52 books I have just finished Oliver Twist yesterday. I don’t know why but for years and years I put off reading Dickens thinking he would be too hard and too long to read. On my year abroad in Germany I read my first Dickens ‘Barnaby Rudge’ followed closely by ‘Hard Times’ and I was pleasantly surprised at how easy to read they were. He has quite a modern style considering the books are about 150 years old. Then in the past couple of months I have read ‘The Mystery of Edwin Drood’ and ‘Oliver Twist’. Edwin Drood has to be up there as one of my favourite books now and it was never finished. Charles Dickens dies before he could finish it and as it’s a whodunit then it’s up to the reader to work out the ending.

And Oliver Twist was a much better read than I expected, which just goes to show you shouldn’t judge a book by its cover. It’s just a shame we never did Dickens at school. Although maybe that would have murdered our love for the stories and author as much as it seems the curriculum does for other greats such as Shakespeare etc.

I’m having a break from reading for a few days to get back in the swing of other things. Got a purple Tunisian crochet scarf to finish, and a red top to crochet some more on. Only 2 WIPs that’s not bad! Need to try out / learn some new skills too, have never tried Bavarian, broomstick or hairpin crochet so maybe try one of those soon?

Right off to make lunch which is fun to do on crutches!!

Talk soon,

Ellen x

2 thoughts on “52 Books

  1. Elizabeth

    Yessss! Love Dickens! Read David Copperfield next – or Bleak House – or Tale of Two Cities. You’re on crutches plenty of time to read them all x

    Like

    1. sarucrochet30 Post author

      Funnily enough Bleak House and David Copperfield are staring at me on my bookshelf. But maybe something Un-Dickens for a break first? I get the feeling I need to use my brain for those two!! xx

      Like

Comments are closed.